WE'VE MOVED! OUR NEW EMAIL ADDRESS IS DWOSC.901@gmail.com Add it to your contact list/address book so you can stay up-to-date with all DWSC business. 


Welcome to the home of the Democratic Women of Shelby County (DWSC) Club. We are happy that you want to learn more about us! The DWSC is a vibrant club within Shelby County and Memphis, Tennessee--the largest city in our area. The DWSC has a diverse membership of over 125 people committed to the purpose of the organization. 



The purpose of the DWSC is to:



The DWSC is under the current leadership of its newly elected Executive Committee.

President, Gortria C. Banks

Vice President, Sarah Freeman

Recording Secretary, Katrina Thompson

Asst. Recording Secretary, JoAnn Street

Corresponding Secretary, Tya Turner-Cleasant

Treasurer, Betina Hunt

Asst. Treasurer, Adrienne Davis

Parliamentarian, Jessica Indingaro, Esq.


DWSC Membership Matters!

You can be a part of our growth and our collective action to spearhead changes that benefit our community and the Democratic Party. For only $25 a year (add $1 if paying online), you can join us in our work to ensure that women are represented in every segment of our city and county

Click Here to Join or Renew 

DWSC membership meetings are held on the second Saturday of each month at 11:00 a.m. via Zoom (unless otherwise noted).


Myra C. Stiles Scholarship Award

The Myra C. Stiles Scholarship Award was created to honor the legacy of a longtime member of the DWSC, Ms. Myra C. Stiles. She was the DWSC Treasurer for over 20 years, which distinguished her as the longest serving officer in DWSC history. If you would like to continue Myra’s legacy, please make a contribution to The Myra C. Stiles Scholarship Award in her honor. Please click here to donate.


In April, the DWSC was pleased to announce four recipients of the 2023 Myra C. Stiles Scholarship Award. They are

Rebekah Butler, Taylor Henderson, Kylie Jackson and MacKenzie Thompson. 

Each high school senior received an unrestricted $500 award and a basket filled with college supplies. They were also recognized at a "meet and greet" in their honor on the campus of The University of Memphis, spearheaded by our former Scholarship Committee Chair, Ms. Lynnette Hall-Lewis, Esq.